A restaurant with almost 100 years of history...
In 1863 Munich’s first Zoo opened its gates – with the bears right at the Königinstraße!
With the beginning of the 20th century the horses moved in. The siblings Otto and Hermann Freiherr von Faber du Faur bought the beautiful groundings for their planned Bavarian Riding School and instructed the architects Hönig and Söldner to build up a sporting place for horses.
The gentlemen succeeded in creating an unique building in neo-classic style that was then chosen to be University’s riding school.
Tournaments took place and many viewers came- thirsty and hungry, so the restaurant that provided food and beverage was important from the beginning.
In the Fifties the Restaurant next to the Riding Stables was the biggest of its kind in Schwabing, in the Seventies it was most legendary for its famous guests, in the Eighties it was the wildest, because students (and others) liked to party hard.
1995 the Restaurant was taken over by the Munich restaurateurs Uli Springer, Klaus Pfeiffer and Matthias Scheffel. They illuminated the rooms and helped the restaurant to new importance under Munich’s restaurants.
In 2010 a huge restauration brought a wider terrace and a very modern interior, that changed the look of the house for ever.
In 2017 new innovations were made: first class material, fresh colors and noble furniture imparted the rooms an airy and wide personality.
The exquisite ambiance is always worth a visit – hopefully today as well as for the next 100 years!